Kauai News

4 Kaua‘i students win $14,000 in scholarships

Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Kimberly-Ann Vidinha of Waimea High School. Photo Courtesy: Mamoru and Aiko Takitani Foundation, Inc.

The Mamoru and Aiko Takitani Foundation, Inc. has named four high school seniors from Kauaʻi as recipients of its annual Legacy Scholarship Program.

The students were among 60 recipients, one from each qualifying public and independent school in the state, who received scholarships based on academic achievement, community service and financial need. In total, the Foundation awarded $219,000 to students throughout the state in its Legacy Scholarship Program this year.

“Mr. and Mrs. Takitani founded Hawaiian Host, and knew hard work, innovation and commitment to excellence were key factors in their success,” said KSSK Radio personality Michael W. Perry, the Takitani Foundation chairman of the board. “The Takitanis wanted to recognize those same qualities in Hawaiʻi’s outstanding students with support to further their education.”


Kimberly-Ann Vidinha of Waimea High School received the $5,000 District Finalist Award. She is the daughter of Wendy and Harold Vidinha. In her junior year, Vidinha was recognized as the Pele Awards Gold Winner, a statewide high school art competition. She has also held the positions of Student Ambassador and study body historian in the 11th and 12th grades.

Madison Doo of Kapa‘a High School and Natalie Lett of Kauai High School received $3,000 scholarship awards.

Doo is the daughter of Erin Takekuma and Bryan Doo. Doo has been on the Principal’s List since the 9th grade, has held officer positions in the Key Club, and represented her school on the varsity volleyball team in the 11th and 12th grades. She will attend Western Washington University this fall.


Lett is the daughter of Gordon Lett, and will attend Boston University in the fall. Lett earned first place in the Multimedia Journalist Category, Student Television Network at the 2022 Convention. She was also recognized by the YWCA Kauai Board of Director’s Media and Communications for pursuing a career in media and communications.

Rayna Shafter received the $3,000 Hawaiʻi Association of Independent Schools scholarship award.

Shafter of Island School is the daughter of Renate and Andrew McMullen. She received the Margot Latif Award for her participation with the Island School Alaka‘i chorus, and also was named Miss Kauai Veteran 2022, based on her academic and extracurricular achievements and community work. Shafter will attend the University of San Diego next fall.


Mamoru and Aiko Takitani founded Hawaiian Host, manufacturer of Hawaiian Host chocolates, and established the Mamoru and Aiko Takitani Foundation, Inc. to give back to the community by providing the gift of education to the young people of Hawaiʻi.

Since 1993, the Foundation has annually presented scholarships to an outstanding student from every qualifying high school in the state and has awarded over $12.5 million to scholarship and academic enrichment programs throughout Hawaiʻi.

Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Kauai Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments