Kauai News

46th John A. Burns Intercollegiate golf tourney on Kauaʻi; public can attend for free

Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

The 46th annual John A. Burns Intercollegiate menʻs golf tournament will be held Feb. 16-18 at the Ocean Course at Hōkūla in Līhuʻe.

The University of Hawaiʻi is hosting the three-day tournament, with a field of 21 teams from nine states. The field also is anchored by reigning U.S. Amateur Champion Sam Bennett, a fifth-year senior at Texas A&M.

Texan Sam Bennett won the 122nd U.S. Amateur tournament. Photo Courtesy: USGA/Grant Halverson

Last year, Bennett set a new Ocean Course at Hōkūala single-round tournament record at 8-under (64) en route to his runner-up finish in the Burns Intercollegiate tournament to defending champion Aaron Du from California.

There is an 8:30 a.m. shotgun start each morning at the 7,156-yard, par 72 course. Live scoring is available at golfstat. The public can attend for free, with free parking available on-site.

The 14th hole at the Ocean Course at Hōkūla in Līhuʻe on Kauaʻi. Photo Courtesy: Ocean Course at Hōkūla

New Mexico returns to defend it team championship. The other teams competing:

  • Arizona
  • Brigham Young
  • California
  • Fresno State 
  • Grand Canyon
  • Hawaiʻi
  • Long Beach State
  • Loyola Marymount
  • Nevada
  • Sacramento State
  • San Diego State
  • Saint Mary’s (Calif.)
  • Santa Clara
  • Texas A&M
  • UNC Wilmington
  • UNLV
  • USC
  • Utah
  • UTEP
  • Washington State
The 2023 Trophy for the John A. Burns Intercollegiate men’s golf tournament at the Ocean Course at Hōkūla in Līhuʻe. Photo Credit: Ocean Course at Hōkūla

Among the who’s-who of Burns champions include Bob Clampett, who won at Wailua in 1978, Steve Pate (UCLA, 1983), Notah Begay (Stanford, 1995), Tiger Woods (Stanford, 1996) and Bo Van Pelt (Oklahoma State, 1997).

Oklahoma State has a won record six Burns titles while California captured five straight titles from 2011-15.


As governor of the state of Hawai’i, Burns longed to see the growth of UH’s athletes at a competitive level with the rest of the nation. He took part in initiating statehood in 1959 and also started the planning and construction for Aloha Stadium – home of UH football
and the NFL’s Pro Bowl, as well as other island sporting events and music concerts.

Before he passed away on April 15, 1975 at the age of 66, Burns supported the upgrading of UH’s athletics program. Shortly after his death, his namesake tournament was founded.


Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Kauai Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments