Kauai News

Kaua‘i lawmakers named to House leadership roles

Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Longtime Kaua‘i politicians Nadine K. Nakamura and Dee Morikawa, who’ve served The Garden Isle for more than two decades combined, have been appointed to key leadership positions within the Hawai‘i House of Representatives.

Rep. Nakamura, a Democrat who represents District 15 (the North Shore of Kaua‘i and portions of the East Side), will be the State House of Representatives Majority Leader when the 2023 Legislative Session begins on Wednesday, Jan. 18.

“I’m grateful to Speaker Scott K. Saiki and my democratic colleagues for giving me the opportunity to lead the Majority Caucus. We will work hard to build more affordable housing, provide financial relief to working families, provide mental health resources, and protect our natural environment to mitigate and adapt to climate change,” said Representative Nakamura in a statement released by the House of Representatives on Monday.

  • State House of Representatives Majority Leader Nadine K. Nakamura serves House District 15. The Kaua‘i district includes includes Hanalei, Princeville, Kīlauea, Anahola, Kapa’a and Wailuā. Photo Courtesy: Hawai‘i State Legislature
  • Majority Floor Leader Dee Morikawa represents House District 17, which includes Ni‘ihau, portion of ‘Ōma‘o, Kōloa, Po‘ipū, Lāwa‘i, Kalāheo, ‘Ele‘ele, Hanapēpē, Kaawanui Village, Pākalā Village, Waimea and Kekaha. Photo Courtesy: Hawai‘i State Legislature
  • James “Jimmy” Tokioka represented House District 16 (Wailuā, Hanamā‘ulu, Kapaia, Līhu‘e, Puhi and a portion of ‘Ōma‘o) until recently, when newly-elected Gov. Josh Green named Tokioka Deputy Director for Airports. Photo Courtesy: Hawai‘i State Legislature

Democratic Rep. Morikawa (District 17 – Ni‘ihau, the West Side of Kaua‘i and portions of the South Shore) will be the House Majority Floor Leader. She’s served as the House Majority Floor Leader since 2018 and is responsible for conducting organization and overseeing activities on the floor.


“It is a role that I am honored to be assigned to by Speaker Scott K. Saiki and I will do my very best to serve with integrity and uphold my commitment to address Hawaiʻi’s important issues,” Morikawa said. “Our leadership team will help guide our priority initiatives through this legislative session.”

Additionally, the 2023 legislative session is the first time that Rep. Nakamura will serve on the House Committee on Legislative Management as Chair, with Representative Morikawa alongside as Vice Chair.

Kaua‘i’s third state representative, James “Jimmy” Tokioka, served District 18 (portions of Kaua‘i’s East Side and South Shore) until late December 2022, when Gov. Josh Green tapped him to serve as his administration’s Deputy Director for Airports. The Democratic Party of Kaua‘i is now assembling a list of candidates for Tokioka’s vacated House seat, from which Gov. Green will select a replacement.



Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Kauai Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments