Kauai News

All County Council Incumbents Retain Their Seats

By Tiffany DeMasters

Posted November 4, 2020, 2:46 AM HST

Initial election results for the state were delayed several hours due to huge voter turnout to the polls on Election Day with final ballots being cast on O‘ahu after 11 p.m.

The first printout, initially scheduled to be released at 7 p.m., was put out at 11:23 p.m. A third and final printout was released at 1:23 a.m. on Wednesday.

The following Kaua‘i County Council incumbents will keep their seats: Arryl Kaneshiro with 16,550 votes; Mason K. Chock 18,592 with votes; Felicia Cowden with 14,388 votes; Luke A. Evslin with 17,368 votes; and KipuKai Kuali‘i with 13,960 votes.

Two additional candidates will join the council. Former Mayor Bernard Carvalho Jr., who received 16,345 votes, and Billy DeCosta who secured 14,516 votes.

State House of Representatives

District 14
Nadine Nakamura (D-Hanalei, Princeville, Kīlauea, Anahola, Kapa‘a, Wailua) defeated opponent Steve Monas (R) with 7,981 votes. Monas secured 2,487.

District 15
James Tokioka (D-Wailua Homesteads, Hanamaulu, Līhu‘e, Puhi, Old Koloa Town, Omao) comfortably defeated Steve Yoder (R) with 7,709 votes over his challenger’s 2,879 votes.

District 16
Daynette Morikawa (D-Ni‘ihau, Lehua, Koloa, Waimea) easily kept her seat with 7,329 votes. Her opponent Ana Mo Des (R) secured 2,609 votes.

Tiffany DeMasters
Tiffany DeMasters is a reporter for Kauai Now. Tiffany worked as the cops and courts reporter for West Hawaii Today from 2017 to 2019. She also contributed stories to Ke Ola Magazine and Honolulu Civil Beat. Tiffany is an award-winning journalist, receiving recognition from the Utah-Idaho-Spokane Associated Press and Society of Professional Journalists. Tiffany grew up on the Big Island and is passionate about telling the community’s stories.
Read Full Bio chevron_right