Kauai News

Brigham Young University wins college golf tourney on Kauaʻi with record team score

Listen to this Article
3 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Texas A&M’s Sam Bennett reaches the par-5 10th hole in two as head coach Brian Kortan closely watches. Bennett finished 18 under for the 54-hole tournament to finish in a tie for first. Photo Courtesy: Ocean Course at Hōkūala

Brigham Young set a new 54-hole team scoring record (810, which is 54 under par) to win the 2023 John A. Burns Intercollegiate golf tournament on Kaua‘i.

The victory was fueled by four players who finished in the top 10 of a 126-player field at the par 72 Ocean Course at Hōkūala in Līhuʻe.

The Cougars dominating performance shattered Auburn’s former scoring record that held for 15 years and was 18 strokes better than second-place Arizona.

Brigham Young set a new 54-hole team scoring record (810, which is 54 under par) to win the 2023 John A. Burns Intercollegiate on Kaua‘i. Photo Courtesy: Ocean Course at Hōkūala

“Playing 27 holes on consecutive days meant anything could happen,” said Bruce Brockbank, BYU’s legendary head men’s golf coach who now has 59 tournament wins to his name across 31 seasons in Provo, Utah. “Our driving accuracy and short game precision were off the charts. It was very rewarding to watch these young men put it all together for a victory in Hawaiʻi.” 


BYU built upon their second-round lead of 10 strokes over Arizona to win the program’s fourth Burns team title (1977, 2000, 2007, 2023). Their 54-under total score was anchored by fifth-year senior Carson Lundell (T3), a 2021 All-American Honorable Mention, Hawaiian-born Keanu Akina (5), David Timmons (T10) and Tyson Shelley (T10). 

No. 19 Arizona (-36) now has two runner-up finishes in 2023, including at last month’s Thunderbird Intercollegiate. No. 9 Texas A&M (-32), No. 53 California (-27) and No. 20 San Diego State (-24) rounded out the top five. Host University of Hawaiʻi finished last of the 21 schools.

Sam Bennett, the reigning U.S. Amateur Champion and 2022 SEC Golfer of the Year, shot 61 with 11 birdies and no bogeys to earn a share of the individual title with California junior Sampson Zheng.

Bennett tied the Burns tournament record set yesterday by Long Beach State’s Ian Gilligan. During last year’s final round on Kaua‘i, Bennett set the Ocean Course at Hōkūala course record at 64 en route to a second-place finish.


Zheng posted three birdies and one eagle over his final six holes to claim his first collegiate win.

Sampson Zheng celebrates his first college victory at the John A. Burns Intercollegiate golf tournament. Photo Courtesy: Ocean Course at Hōkūala

In a unique situation, tournament officials declared Zheng and Bennett co-winners due to a lack of daylight remaining for a playoff and the high chance of rain on Saturday. They both shot 18-under par for the tournament.

Following Aaron Du’s 2022 Burns individual victory, the Golden Bears have now claimed back-to-back individual medalist honors on the Garden Isle. California has tied New Mexico for most individual medalists in tournament history.

All team and individual scores are listed on Golfstat.


Next on the schedule for host school Hawai‘i, the Rainbow Warriors will travel to Palm Desert, Calif. to compete in the Wyoming Desert Intercollegiate on March 1 – 3.

Team Leaderboard

PlaceSchoolTo ParRd. 1Rd. 2Rd. 3Total
1Brigham Young-54273271266810
3Texas A&M-32286279267832
5San Diego State-24292279269840
6Long Beach State-20278284282844
T7New Mexico-19282282281845
9Southern California-17294274279847
10Texas El Paso-16282282284848
11Fresno State-15284281283849
12Grand Canyon-13287276288851
13Santa Clara-12283293276852
14UNC Wilmington-11295278280853
T15Washington State-8294283279856
18Sacramento State-1283285295863
T19St. Mary’s (CA)E287294283864
T19Loyola MarymountE297285282864

Top Individuals

PlacePlayerSchoolTo ParRd. 1Rd. 2Rd. 3Total
T1Sam BennettTexas A&M-18706761198
T1Sampson ZhengCalifornia-18656865198
T3Carson LundellBrigham Young-17706366199
T3Ian GilliganLong Beach State-17617167199
5Keanu AkinaBrigham Young-14666769202
T6Julien PaltrinieriSanta Clara-13716963203
T6Matthew ManganelloFresno State-13687065203
T6Tiger ChristensenArizona-13677165203
9Shea LagueSan Diego State-11707164205
T10Tyson ShelleyBrigham Young-10716966206
T10Braxton WattsUtah-10726767206
T10Matthew BraleyGrand Canyon-10716867206
T10David TimmonsBrigham Young-10667268206

Sponsored Content

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Stay in-the-know with daily
headlines delivered straight to your inbox.


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Kauai Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments